Planet Lovecraft Magazine #4 – Review

Posted on July 5, 2009

1


Issue : Planet Lovecraft Magazine #4
Writers : J.M. DeSantis, H.P. Lovecraft, Vincent Ferrante, Martin Fisher, Rob Corless, Lee Davis, Abraham Martinez
Artists: J.M. DeSantis, Tim Spervero, Tommy Gun, Ben Hansen, Rob Corless, Lee Davis, Carlos de Anda
Cover Art: Rob Corless
Publisher: Lightning  Strikes Twice Entertainment & Saturna Ink
Release Date: Fall 2009

Pages: 56
Price: $7.99

“Planet Lovecraft is a B&W illustrated quarterly magazine in the tradition of CREEPY, EERIE and HEAVY METAL Magazine. Every issue is packed with comics, articles, and interviews with one common thread – the Master of Weird Horror, H.P. Lovecraft!”

I will come out and say it. I know nothing about H.P. Lovecraft, so a quick Wikipedia check and I was all ready to read this collection of 7 stories. A very cool collection and I have to say I’m intrigued enough to want to check out more of this style of horror.

Artwork: 4.0 out of 5
Each story brings a nice new style along with it. I think they all fit very well. I personally enjoyed the art on “The Thing in the Box” and “Awakener” the most. The Thing in the Box” was the most creepy of the stories and the artwork really sold it. With “Awakener” I enjoy the style so it stood out the most to me. But overall they were all great.

Story: 4.0 out of 5
I do have to say I enojyed all the stories and what I liked most was “Hypnos” because it was an actual Lovecraft story. So for someone with little knowldge on his writing like me it was a nice story to include. The final two stories did leave me a little confused but I think they were part of multiple arcs and since I only read issue #4 I can see why that would happen. Overall very cool.

Dying Breath: 4.0 out of 5
I have to say that if you a Lovecraft fan, and I know your out there reading the Boom titles, check this out. The stories are solid, they follow a great theme, that I can’t wait to look more into. The description of this publication being Creepy or Eerie for Lovecraft fans is spot on. A cool collection of stories and some great artwork just got me to become a subscriber.

If you would like to get Planet Lovecraft Magazine #4 please go to http://planetlovecraftmagazine.com/ or get your comic shop to order it through Haven Distribution

If you would like to know more about Planet Lovecraft Magazine please go to http://planetlovecraftmagazine.com/

Posted in: Reviews