Ghostface #1 & 2 – Review

Posted on July 5, 2009

0


Issue : Ghostface #1 & 2
Creator : John C. Narcomey Jr.
Writer : John C. Narcomey Jr.
Artist: John C. Narcomey Jr.
Editor: Daryl Auclair
Production Manager: Neil Tolman
Publisher: High Tower Comics
Release Date: February 2009

Pages: 24
Price: $3.99

“A vintage pulp opera of dangerous dames, malicious mugs and hard boiled heroics.

I liked this story from the two issues I read and can say I see some good potential in what is to come. While it doesn’t follow my typical horror style it seems more along the Pulp lines of say The Goon with it’s style but also mixes in a nice 1920’s gangster feel.

Artwork: 3.7 out of 5
I liked the feel of the artwork in these issues. It really sets the tone for the story and just nicely fits the era. I will mention though that issue #1 had some panels where I didn’t quite get what was going on but by the end of issue #2 I really felt that the artist had found his legs and got a better grasp on it all.

Story: 3.8 out of 5
I can’t really say I have read a good deal of stories on this kind of topic. The issues though contained what I would expect to find though. Kinda like that art I felt issue #2 was stronger and I am glad I was able to read them together. I think that there are some holes that fill in as the story goes along, but from what I read it was strong enough to gain my attention and hold it from start to finish and I am intrigued to see what comes next.

Dying Breath: 3.8 out of 5
A bit of a shaky start but the books quickly get rolling and it pulled my interest in. Then by the end of issue #2 I was left wondering what was next. Isn’t that what you want from a comic? Overall I liked what I read. I think it fits the genre nicely and if your a fan of the Pulp Noir style check it out.

If you would like to get Ghostface #1 & 2 please go to http://www.hightowercomics.com/ or get your comic shop to order it through Haven Distribution

If you would like to know more about Ghostface and other High Tower Comics titles please go to http://www.hightowercomics.com/

Posted in: Reviews