Hungry for Stink #1 – Review

Posted on July 3, 2009

0


Issue : Hungry for Stink #1
Story Creators: Jon McCarthy & Sean Cerny
Writer: Jon McCarthy
Pencils, Inks, & Colors: Dallas Clifton
Letters: Jon McCarthy

Publisher: Mass Casualty Comics
Release Date: March 2009
Pages: 24
Price: $4.99

“After terrorists release a bioweapon in New Orleans on Z-Day, the dead begin to rise. Some retain their human intelligence (Smart Zoms) and others become flesh eating monsters (Rotters)

I guess my initial reaction to the first page of this comic was a huge shock. The blew up the Super Dome! Oh I just hope my precious Saints weren’t inside. LOL.

Okay back to the comic, Hungry for Stink is a descent first issue that seemed to know where it’s faults were. I think it improved well  as the story progressed and all together was a good first effort.

Artwork: 4.0 out of 5
To me this was the strong point of the comic. I think that the artwork was great (minus the Super Dome incident) and the coloring was spot on. The style kinda felt a bit like Archie meets Walking Dead to me but it works. One thing I thought stood out was how elements in the art were used to separate the panels instead of white or black lines.

Story: 3.3 out of 5
Like I mentioned above, the story got progressively better from start to finish. By that I mean it gained it’s voice and as a reader I started to see where it was heading. Now that being said, it’s not your typical zombie story. I was kinda surprised by the mix gore with a friendly atmosphere and tone to the story.

Dying Breath: 3.6 out of 5
I really would sum this issue up as a Wholesome Zombie comic, sounds strange doesn’t it. I didn’t think it took that serious “Were all gonna Die” style of story. It was fun and the artwork was great. I think together they both complimented each other well. I will be looking forward to see where this story goes with future issues because I think it has some good ideas going for it.

To purchase Hungry for Stink #1 please go to http://www.indyplanet.com

For more info on Hungry for Stink #1 and other titles by Mass Casualty Comics please go to http://www.masscasualtycomics.com/

Posted in: Reviews