Tomb of Bloke #1 Review

Posted on June 14, 2009

0


Issue : Tomb of Bloke #1
Writer/Letterer :
Jason “Bloke” Crawley
Artist / Creator:
Ju Gomez
Colors / Page Tech:
Wulf
Publisher: Virus Comix
Release Date: June 2009
Pages: 28
Price: $2.99

Welcome to the world of Bloke. A security guard who just happened to work at the wrong test facility. Now that he is one of the living dead we will follow him along and see what trouble ensues. This is a nice intro issue into his word the defiantly sets up the reader to expect the unexpected in this zombie populated world

Artwork: 3.7 out of 5
I think overall the book works nicely. Good flowing panels, really nice page textures and shading. You can see what I mean when I say texture by looking at the cover. However I did feel that some panels were a bit too dark and hard to decipher.

Story: 3.7 out of 5
The story starts off great, delivering the entire back story within the first two pages, so I knew what was going on. I like the idea of following one of the zombies around as he seeks his revenge. One thing that seemed a little off to me though was how Bloke as a zombie was different in the way he thinks. Now granted we don’t get to jump into any of the other zombies lives, but the way they were described seemed to be more lifeless.

Dying Breath: 3.7 out of 5
I enjoyed my introduction into the word of Bloke. I feel that the story has a nice place to travel within so you won’t be delivered the typical zombie style story. Plus it’s being told from the zombie point of view instead of a living human. I think if your looking for the next new zombie story than this one is worth checking out. Great introduction issue that I hope can build upon itself and deliver with each issue.

For more info on Tomb of Bloke please go to http://viruscomix.ning.com/ , http://www.myspace.com/tombofblokeonlinecomic and http://www.myspace.com/blokespitofhorror

If you would like to buy Tomb of Bloke #1 or any other Virus Comix titles you can get them through Indy Planet

Posted in: Reviews