Bane of the Werewolf #1

Posted on June 3, 2009

0


Writer: Rob E. Brown
Pencils: Rob E. Brown
Letters: Rob E. Brown
Colors: Rob E. Brown
Publisher: Silver Phoenix Entertainment
Release Date: April 2009

Wow! That was so much more than the preview pages could even make it appear to be. Welcome to the world created by horror aficionado, Rob E. Brown. He explains on the back inside cover of the book his love of the genre and what he has attempted to create with Bane of the Werewolf. A love of Creepy and Eerie can easily be seen here.

A nice first issue introduces you to the world of Eliphas Moreau, a Roma (gypsy) who was born into a world of privilege until he was taken by Gypsy’s and raised in their world of mystical wonder. I won’t give anything away here, but from the first few pages I was hooked. This book was meant to convey that old style of horror and it does a marvelous job.

Artwork: 3.5 out of 5
The artwork is beautiful from page to page but it is not what stands out here. While the emotions of the scenes are depicted well I feel the inking was overdone. I did have to really look at some panels to know what was going on. But by no means did it take away from the whole atmosphere of the book.

Story: 5 out of 5
This is what you buy it for. 22 pages of this book is like a mini novel. I think it took me around 30+ minutes to read it and I was sad when it was over. Why do I have to wait for more? Rob really knows the genre well and is able to convey it so perfectly. Full of the great monster elements that I love to read about (the black arts, wired sci-fi experiments). Nice touches really sell it as a whole package that you can not be disappointed about, I know I wasn’t.

Dying Breath: 4.25 out of 5
Overall your getting more than what you paid for with this book. If you ask me anything you pay under $4 that gives you that much story is worth it. Fans of the older horror books who didn’t get this, go now! It’s right up your alley. Those of you who know little to nothing about the older magazines, grab this and see what you missed out on. It’s better than paying $30 for that early issue of Creepy. Descent art and a solid story makes me wish it didn’t end. At least Haven picked up this gem and it will still be distributed, so go and tell you comic shops and dealers to get your copy ordered today. You will not be disappointed (unless you like more pictures in your comics than words I guess.)

For more information on Bane of the Werewolf go to http://www.baneofthewerewolf.com/ and http://www.silverphoenix.net/
Don’t forget to have your comic dealer get you copies through Haven Distribution. If you need a guy please let me know.


Posted in: Reviews