The Dead: Kingdom of Flies Book 1 – Advanced Review

Posted on July 3, 2009

0


Issue : The Dead: Kingdom of Flies  Book 1
Writer: Alan Grant
Pencils: Simon Bisley
Cover: Glenn Fabry
Inker: Andrew Brown
Colors: Adam Brown
Letters: Ryan Brown
Publisher: Berserker Comics
Release Date: October 2009
Collects: #1-#4
Pages: 96
Price: $15

“Most of Britain has fallen to an invasion of zombies. There is no escape from their insatiable appetite for living flesh. But in Oxford, city of the dreaming spires, an unlikely alliance between a crew of firefighters and a pair of misfit soldiers has allowed them to survive. Now, with the city virtually overrun, it’s time to strike back!!

Oh Hell Yeah! I am way to pumped after reading this collection of issues 1-4. You know there are a lot of zombie books out there to choose from but when I come across one that just makes me want to kick zombie ass I will praise it!

Artwork: 4.5 out of 5
I don’t even know where to start here. The covers by Glenn Fabry are so amazing and I rank them up there with the old Deadworld covers. Just fantastic. Then I open the book and I find even more amazing work by Bisley. The only thing that comes to mind looking at his style is the Aeon Flux tv show. It’s just demented and distorted and flat out amazing. Some of the best gorey art I have seen lately. The Brown’s inking and coloring just solidify the whole piece. It’s all works so well.

Story: 4.2 out of 5
Alright typical zombie story here. Group of people to follow as they try to survive the zombie apacolypse. It is so much like reading Dawn of the Dead mixed with They Live. I honestly feel like I just watched a movie it all flowed so well.  The clincher though is in the early pages where you get glimpses on the TV of coverage from the events. Every single one had me laughing so hard.

Dying Breath: 4.4 out of 5
I can’t eevn seem to sum this collection up without just saying I Love It! This is what I want in a typical zombie story. I want the humor, I want the gore and I want that B-Movie script. This colelction delivered. If anything I’m pissed that issue #5 ain’t out yet! Lets get going on the second story arc already!

To purchase The Dead: Kingdom of Flies  Book 1
please go to http://www.thedeadcomic.com/

For more info on The Dead: Kingdom of Flies and other Berserker Comics titles please go to http://www.thedeadcomic.com/

Posted in: Reviews